XMR — · · 24h Vol — · Cap — Trade XMR
Windscribe Review 2026: Paying with Monero and Privacy Policy

Windscribe Review 2026: Paying with Monero and Privacy Policy

Windscribe accepts Monero for anonymous VPN upgrades. This review examines its crypto payment options, minimal logging policy, and practical trade-offs for privacy-focused users.

Windscribe Cryptocurrency Payment Options

Windscribe accepts Monero (XMR) along with Bitcoin (BTC and Lightning), Ethereum (ETH), and over 20 other cryptocurrencies for its paid plans. This support has been active for at least eight years as of June 2026, giving users an established route to purchase Pro access without credit cards or other traceable payment details.

Standard Pro pricing is $9.00 per month or $69 per year, the latter equating to $5.75 per month. A cash-by-mail option covers the 1-year Pro plan at exactly $69 USD. Payments handled by third-party processors result in Windscribe retaining only the transaction ID for 30 days, and solely for fraud prevention. Anonymous sign-up remains available with an email address listed as optional.

Step-by-Step: Paying for Windscribe with Monero

Windscribe supports anonymous registration that requires only a username and password. Email remains optional throughout the process.

  1. Visit the Windscribe site and create an account using a username and strong password. Skip the email field to keep the signup minimal.
  2. Log in and navigate to the upgrade page for a paid plan. Select Monero from the listed cryptocurrency options.
  3. The checkout redirects to a third-party processor. Generate a unique Monero payment address and amount shown on screen.
  4. Send the exact XMR from your wallet. Confirmations typically complete within minutes to an hour depending on network conditions.
  5. Return to the Windscribe dashboard once the processor reports success. The plan activates automatically.

Windscribe retains only the transaction ID for 30 days after payment solely for fraud prevention. No additional payment details are stored. This workflow aligns with the privacy policy updated July 30, 2024, which limits retained information to the transaction ID during that window.

Windscribe Privacy Policy: Logged Data Explained

Windscribe’s privacy policy, last updated July 30, 2024, commits to storing only two persistent items: the total bytes transferred during the preceding 30 days and the timestamp of the most recent activity. These aggregates allow basic abuse detection without creating usable session histories.

During an active connection the server holds username, connection start time, and current data volume in RAM only. The policy states these values are discarded the moment the session ends, so they never reach disk or long-term storage.

The same document explicitly confirms that Windscribe does not retain historical VPN session records, source IP addresses, or any record of sites visited. When cryptocurrency payments are processed by a third-party gateway, the service keeps solely the transaction identifier for 30 days to handle chargebacks or fraud; no other payment metadata is retained.

ItemStatusDuration / Location
Total bytes transferred (30-day window)StoredPersistent database
Timestamp of last activityStoredPersistent database
Username, connection time, data volumeStored temporarilyServer RAM only; cleared on disconnect
Historical VPN sessionsDiscardedNever written
Source IP addressesDiscardedNever written
Sites or destinations visitedDiscardedNever written
Third-party crypto transaction IDStored30 days for fraud checks

Privacy and Payment Comparison with Other VPNs

Windscribe's verified logging practices and payment options provide a concrete baseline for comparison on the requested criteria.

VPNLogging ScopeMonero SupportAnonymous SignupData Retention Periods
WindscribeMinimal: total bytes transferred over 30 days, last activity timestamp; no historical VPN sessions, source IPs, or visited sites storedYes, accepts XMR among more than 20 cryptocurrenciesYes, username and password required; email optionalTransaction ID retained for 30 days when using third-party processors; session data discarded on disconnect
MullvadNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefing
Other privacy VPNNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefingNot specified in verified briefing

Only Windscribe details appear in the October 13, 2026 research briefing. Its privacy policy, last updated July 30, 2024, has seen no reported changes through mid-2026.

OPSEC Considerations for Monero Users

Acquiring XMR through KYC-regulated exchanges creates the first identifiable link before any Windscribe payment occurs. Even when the VPN accepts Monero directly, the on-ramp exchange retains purchase records that can later be subpoenaed.

Running a Monero wallet over clearnet nodes exposes the user’s IP address during transaction broadcast. Connecting through Tor or a separate VPN instance before broadcasting reduces this surface, though it adds latency and does not eliminate all metadata risks.

Windscribe operates under Canadian jurisdiction. The company has stated its logging policy remained unchanged after Bill C-22 discussions, yet Canadian authorities can still compel disclosure of the 30-day transaction IDs retained by third-party processors for fraud checks. Users should therefore treat the payment step as the point where jurisdiction intersects with otherwise minimal data collection rather than assuming the transaction itself confers untraceability.

FAQ

Does Windscribe still accept Monero in 2026?

Windscribe accepts Monero (XMR) for paid plans, a feature supported for at least eight years as of June 2026 according to its knowledge base.

Has Windscribe updated its privacy policy since July 2024?

The policy remains unchanged since its July 30, 2024 update, with mid-2026 company statements confirming no shifts in logging practices despite Canadian legislative discussions.

How many server locations does Windscribe offer?

The service covers servers in over 69 countries and 112 cities, as listed on its upgrade page.

What limits apply to the cash payment option?

Cash-by-mail is limited to the 1-year Pro plan at exactly $69 USD, with no sale pricing available, per the June 2026 announcement.

What happens if the Monero processor fails?

Transactions use third-party processors; Windscribe stores only the transaction ID for 30 days for fraud prevention, so users must confirm status with the processor directly.

Can I sign up anonymously when paying with Monero?

Anonymous signup works with just a username and password; an email address is optional.

Is Monero support likely to continue long term?

June 2026 announcements highlighted eight years of cryptocurrency support including Monero with no signs of removal.